h1

unashamed self-promotion

January 7, 2010

So, I’ve started a blog.  Some people use a blog to keep friends updated on the goings-on of their lives.  Others use it to rant about politics, celebrities, and customer service at their local Starbucks.  Some share recipes or household maintenance tips.

I, unashamedly, am establishing a blog because I want to be a writer.  And these days, it seems more and more writers are being “discovered” by publishers through their blogs.  (Here would be a perfect opportunity to tag names like Random House, InterVarsity Press, Relevant Magazine, and others so that my blog might happen to come up in their search.  But I won’t do that.  Now.)

I suppose you could say I am already a writer.  I have had two articles published online: one with Relevant Magazine, the other with their sister publication, Radiant. I think both articles were mainly read by people who know me personally, although some guy I don’t know quoted the Relevant article in his blog.  (See?  Proof that this whole blogging thing does give writers more visibility.)  I think both articles are now lost in the online archives of each magazine, but the point is, they were out there once.  I was a writer.

But over the past two years or so, I have put writing on the backburner because I have been working full-time as a teacher and going to school part-time at night.  This all adds up to little free time for much of anything else, other than maintaining friendships, exercising from time to time, eating, and sleeping.

But now (fanfare, please)…I am nearly finished with my last night class, which means that I have a little more time in my day for things like going to the gym.  Oh, and writing.  That too.

So the purpose of this blog is twofold.  One, it is a form of discipline to get me back into writing regularly, creatively.  Two, it is a way for you, my friends and fellow bloggers, to read about my life and ideas so that you then share this blog with others, who then share it with others, who eventually become a large enough readership base to get me recognized by a publishing company.

Unashamed self-promotion.  There you have it.

You may be wondering about the title of my blog.  It comes from something C.S. Lewis (perhaps my favorite author) wrote in Mere Christianity:

“Even in literature and art, no man who bothers about originality will ever be original: whereas if you simply try to tell the truth (without caring twopence how often it has been told before) you will, nine times out of ten, become original without ever having noticed it.”

Thus my attempt here will be not to strive for originality, but to simply try to tell the truth about myself and the world around me.  And hopefully, somewhere along the way, I shall become original.

Perhaps you find yourself prickling at the idea of my establishing this blog purely to get published.  That’s okay–if you know me, you know that shameless self-promotion is not my usual mode of operation.  My hope is that you will find some enjoyment in simply reading what I have to say, getting to know me better, and finding yourself responding with curiosity, laughter, introspection…whatever is prompted.

6 comments

  1. hey allison,
    long time no talk. looking forward to reading this…fyi. I have a close friend who is an editor for Intervarsity Press…


  2. Sarah–Glad to see you’re reading this! It’s good to have friends of friends in high places… I’ll let you know if I ever need to call on your friend for their publishing connections!


  3. Wishing you luck in the writing escapade. I am aspiring, too… and writing and publishing in some places… but need more motivation/encouragement to continue. You can follow my blog at http://fairbettysworld.blogspot.com/
    (And that is MY unashamed self-promotion).


  4. Thanks, Mac! I took a look at your blog, and while I skipped over what I think was a paper you wrote, I did enjoy reading your essay for your application to the post-grad program. Have you started it already?


    • I have started that program. It’s been a great experience so far. I’ve learned a lot and enjoyed stretching my brain out (that’s what the paper on Moderata Fonte was for).

      Just read your post on human suffering… hang in there and keep an open heart. Without suffering, we can’t truly experience joy.


  5. Welcome to the Blogosphere Allison. I added you to my reader and look forward to reading here often.



Leave a Reply

