h1

seasons

April 16, 2010

“It’s been unusually warm this season.”

“The Royals are having their worst season ever.”

“I can’t wait until Spring.”

“If I can just get through the holiday season…”

“It’s been an especially challenging season for me.”

I was noticing recently how much we humans rely on, look forward to, and expect seasons.  It seems like a statement of the obvious, but sometimes our relationship with seasons is so close underneath our noses, we don’t take the time to notice the impact they have on our lives.

Whether we are aware of it or not, it is human nature to want routine.  We want to know what’s coming.  We want to know how to prepare for what’s next.  We want to know that what we experienced last year can in some manner predict what will happen this year.  And we can stretch this concept of seasons a bit further: We want to know if what our lives hold will be similar to what our parents and grandparents experienced.  We like predictability.  We are thrown off by spontaneity.  Sure, spontaneity keeps us on our toes, but what we really want is for the day planner to be filled out, known, prepared for, without any last-minute changes or cancellations.

If you are questioning the validity of this phenomenon, try caring for an infant or toddler for a day or two.  They absolutely exist in routine.  Without it, their little worlds get turned upside-down.  (As does yours, as their caretaker, of course…)  Or just listen to The Byrds.  (Turn, turn, turn…)

This is why I like the idea of heaven.  To some, it may sound boring or monotonous to spend the rest of eternity worshiping God.  I like it.  It means I know what to expect.  It means routine.  I am certainly not claiming to know exactly what heaven will look like, but I am banking on God’s promises that there will be no weeping or mourning in heaven.  What He’s really saying is, there will be no upsets.  No unexpected tragedy.  No surprises that ruffle our feathers…only good ones that make us think, “I’d been wondering about that…”

Spring is here.  I had been pining for it like no other Spring before.  Not only did I need a change in season, I needed the hope of a change in season.  That’s the irony of seasons:  They come and go when we expect them to, but their essence is change.  The old cliche is true:  The only constant in life is change.  And I am needing change.  I am gaining indescribable amounts of joy from watching things grow in my yard.  I planted a garden and while I have yet to see anything really growing in it yet, the hope for what will come of it is exciting.

I am thankful for the seasons.  I admit willingly that I am a creature of habit.  I thrive in routine, but at the same time, I am looking forward to what changes the current season may bring with it.

2 comments

  1. It’s an unusual irony, isn’t it? Needing and seeking comfort in routine and yet longing for change…


  2. Allison,
    This is absolutely a beautifully written post. The older I get, the more reflective I get. The more life experiences I have, the more reflective I get. I am so thankful for that.



Leave a Reply

