h1

a small victory of the heart

April 28, 2010

I researched.

I looked at photos.

I asked for input from friends.

I prayed.  I got few answers.  I prayed some more.

I solicited my mother’s advice via email, as she is currently trapsing about eastern Europe.  She wrote back, in the well-hedged, diplomatic language I have directly inherited from her, that “Now might not be the best time.”

I consulted my common sense.  (Many times, when I’m praying about a decision, God’s response to me is, “I gave you common sense for a reason.  Now use it.”  Problem is, I trust heavenly neon signs and divine roadblocks more than I do my own noggin.)

In the end, against my mother’s advice, against my better judgment, and entirely against all common sense, I have decided to get a dog. Because if you think about it, there is nothing even remotely commonsensical about inviting a four-legged creature into your house, catering to its every need, and reworking your entire daily routine–your entire existence, really–around this little guy.  And for what?  For chewed-up shoes, muddy paw-marks, and an alert to every sound in the neighborhood.  And companionship.  That, too.

If you are reading this, then you probably know that not a single major decision I have made thus far in my life has been based on sentiment.  I base my decisions on God’s lead, logistics, cost effectiveness, and time efficiency.  If it doesn’t save me something–time, money, headaches–I generally choose not to do it.  For the first time in a very long time, I have heeded Hallmark’s advice and followed my heart. (The only exception to this have been, perhaps, trips to South Africa and Seattle, where I have left significant pieces of my heart.)

This is a big deal for me.  Not just the getting a dog part, but the following my heart part.  Sentimentalists of the world, you may applaud.  A small victory of the heart has been won.

Meet Titus.

5 comments

  1. Ok, but we need more details on Titus… like breed, age, temperament, where you got him, how you decided on him, where he sleeps, what he sounds/smells like…

    He’s cute 🙂


  2. Duly noted! I’ll make my next post a Titus bio. Coming soon…


  3. Hi Titus! Glad you followed your heart Allison! I think this little guy might just help strengthen your heart a bit 🙂


  4. bunkie…..you are adorable as is titus….and i’m proud of your heart following decision – we’re waiting for the next one!! xx


  5. Thanks, Bob and Sarah! And if by “next one” you mean another puppy, you’ll be waiting a LONG time!



Leave a Reply

