h1

simple, revolutionary

November 1, 2010

Do you ever have those times when you realize this?–“God knows me really well.  I mean, He knows me better than I will ever know myself.”

I had one of these moments a few weeks ago.  I had been praying for the friends I mentioned in a previous post–the friends who are all battling cancer.  But my prayers had turned into more worried petitions than prayers.  I guess you could say I was worrying for my friends constantly, not praying for them constantly.  And that does no one any good.  And I’m pretty sure God was getting annoyed with me.

Around the same time, I spent some time with a wonderful friend/mentor of mine.  We spent some time asking Jesus to enter into my imagination and tell me what He thinks about my friends and my worry for them.  The result was a conversation with Jesus that went something like this:

Jesus: Allison, how many friends do you have who are battling cancer?

Me: Three.

J: And how many meals do you usually eat each day?

Me: Three.

J:  So pray for one friend at each meal, and then please, I beg you–enjoy the rest of your day.  Live your life.  Don’t let worry paralyze you.

Me: Ohh…

So simple, yet so revolutionary.  Now I am doing my part, in two respects: I am praying regularly for my friends, and I am fully living my life each day.  Isn’t it amazing how worry (read: fear) can paralyze us to the point of being unable to live an ordinary day?  Amazing.

I wish I could say that the result of this revelation was healing for all of my friends.  Not yet.  But I have so much hope for them.  So much more than I did when all I could do was worry for them.  And I can stand by them in prayer and in strength to ask God for miracles in their lives.

One comment

  1. What an awesome experience Allison! Maybe one of the messages is that worry keeps us from truly living. Another is that prayer can turn into worry.

    Hope you are having a great week!

    Blessings, Bob



Leave a Reply

