h1

a book in progress…?

February 25, 2011

For a few years now, I’ve talked off and on about maybe, someday, when I get around to it…writing a book.  I’ve even jotted down a few ideas now and then, but nothing ever really materialized.  However, over the past week, I’ve started writing, and it might even have potential to be a book.

The idea started when I flew to Seattle in June 2010 to visit these crazy kids:

Ben and Laura picked me up from my late-evening flight and promptly took me on my first pho experience.  Over our steaming soups and piles of rice, we talked about what had been going on lately in life.  For me, it was the end of the school year and projects on my new house.  For them, it was baby names.

No, Laura was not pregnant, but she and Ben had already been debating baby names.  Laura had her heart set on a name that Ben wasn’t too crazy about.  Ben was conjuring up names that would make great puns when paired with their last name, Rice.  (Brown, Jasmine, Basmati…)  They talked about how their children will probably have big ears and irresistible brown eyes.  The name debate continued over the next few days, goodnaturedly, but with no resolution in sight.

That was over seven months ago, but for some reason the conversation–and the unusual name Laura loved–have been stuck in my mind.  And in my mind, the name became a character–a character for a potentially endearing book written for third- or fourth-grade readers.  Ideas started cropping up: this little girl’s parents’ occupations, her challenges in school, her friendships.

This adorable character will remain nameless for the moment, but here are a few teasers about her:

She’s in the fourth grade.

She has big ears and a speech impediment.

Her dad is a martial arts expert and her mom teaches cooking and dance classes.

She is named after a fruit.

Naturally, she is very bright and self-aware.

Her family has a dog named Titus.  (Of course.)

I’ll be sure to post something here again if it looks like our little fourth-grader might develop into something big.  If you don’t hear about her for a while, feel free to bug me; it will be good accountability to keep writing.

2 comments

  1. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more about this young lady!


  2. Sounds pretty cool Allison! Ethan and I will be one of the first in line to get autographed copies of course



Leave a Reply

