h1

40 days of gratitude, day 1

March 9, 2011

Last week, I read this blog post. You should read it, too.  After reading it, the blog post’s key question echoed in my mind: What if you woke up tomorrow with only what you thanked God for today?

I shared this thought-provoking question with my roommates, and we all realized that we would probably wake up tomorrow with precious little.  One roommate realized she would wake up with a jar of peanut butter and George Washington Carver, the inventor of peanut butter.  (“Good morning, George…”)

Around the same time, I had started thinking about what I should give up for Lent.  Today, Ash Wednesday, came around, and still no ideas on what to sacrifice.  Then I remembered the blog post, and it was like two brilliant thoughts collided:  Rather than give something up for Lent, why not take some time each day to do a “Gratitude Inventory”?

So this is my challenge for Lent: to make a daily list of the specific things I am grateful for.  I am going to list my Gratitude Inventories here so a) you readers (yes, all 7 of you) can keep me accountable and b) you can add your own Gratitude Inventories in the comments if you like.

So for today, Ash Wednesday, here is my Gratitude Inventory.  I am grateful for:

  • coffee
  • my job
  • my friends’ jobs
  • the two great students I tutor
  • songs on the radio that make me smile
  • a car that works
  • my dog
  • the fact that spring break is only two days away
  • the daffodils beginning to poke out of the ground in my backyard
  • grits
  • my health
  • the fact that I don’t have to do anything to earn God’s love
  • Psalm 45
  • the freedom to decide what to do with my evening
  • my church’s amazing youth group
  • a working furnace
  • a safe neighborhood
  • cozy blankets
  • a good night’s sleep

What are you grateful for on this first day of Lent?

5 comments

  1. OMG, this is soooo cool!!! So often, as actually just happened when I was working on a blog for tomorrow, I’m wondering, “God, why am I writing this?”, as I’m writing. I am humbled and thrilled that if for no other reason, He had me write that so you would be blessed by it!!!

    I love the idea of the gratitude inventory and am going to join you in the endeavor! Last night, before dozing off, I made a mental list of all of the things I’m grateful for. While I’ve given little thought to Lent this year, your words here, have given me the swift kick in the pants as to what I need to do and actually keep an written inventory!

    THANK YOU!


    • Yes, I was definitely blessed by your post! I’ve had a rough season lately and was having a hard time focusing on the positive; the gravity of gratitude that you conveyed was my swift kick in the pants! Life in general seems so much more positive when I am focused on all the wonderful things God has given me.

      Have fun keeping your gratitude inventory! And do share them from time to time!


  2. Allison – thank you! I am taking up the challenge too! Perfect idea for Lent.


  3. I love this idea! I have seriously been challenged the past few days since our conversation about gratitude. I really do find myself thanking God for all kinds of things throughout my day…a habit I will glady pick up!
    I’ve found that quite a number of my friends are taking things on for Lent this year rather than giving things up…I think I like it…


  4. […] to give up for Lent, so she decided instead to focus daily on the things that she thanks God for.  This post explains it all.  I’ve decided to steal borrow her idea.  At least for today.  There are […]



Leave a Reply

