h1

goodbye, Emmett

June 9, 2011

Early this morning, Emmett Stallings left this world.  You can read his wife’s description of his last couple of days at teamemmett.com.

I am at a loss for words, and I feel like my heart and stomach are trying to tear their way out of my body.  I keep thinking of Emmett’s wife, Wendy, and imagining the moments and emotions she is living right now.  And their son Quinn…

For the past couple of hours, a list of names has been tumbling in my head: Leah, Cindy, Aunt Eileen, Emmett.  Leah, Cindy, Aunt Eileen, Emmett.  All gone.  All had cancer.  My friend Joan has conquered her cancer, and for that I have an ever-growing gratitude.  But four people gone…

Dear God: I don’t think I can handle any more death.  Please, in your mercy, give life to my friends and family, and protect them from illness and accidents.  I just can’t take much more…

In addition to the list of names, this song has also been a constant in my head for the past week or so.  I apologize for the somewhat cheesy photo montage, but it’s the best I could find:

Leave a Reply

