h1

Clemson = home

October 9, 2011

For the first time in five years, I went back to Clemson University for Homecoming.  I got to see wonderful friends and quite a few of their kids–little composites of their parents running around in their cute orange outfits.  I went to the football game and cheered the Tigers on as they defeated Boston College.  I shouted along to the fight song and remembered all the words to the Alma Mater.

I went home.

I parked in the Botanical Gardens–the complete opposite side of campus from the stadium.  But I didn’t mind.  I wanted to take the long walk through Lightsey Bridge Apartments where I lived for 2 and 1/2 years.  I stopped at the Hendrix Center where I spent countless hours studying or meeting with friends.  I passed by buildings where I went to classes or met with professors.  I listened to the marching band play at the amphitheater–a place where I used to take naps in the sun between classes.

December will mark ten years since I graduated from Clemson.  Ten years.  Even though I only spent 3 and 1/2 years there–half the amount of time I’ve lived in Kansas City now–my time there was one that has marked me and changed me profoundly.  I would not be the person I am today had it not been for the experiences, the people, and the encounters with God Himself that I had on this beautiful campus in South Carolina.

Clemson has been, and I anticipate ever will be, home.

One comment

  1. I get that relaxed “I’m home” feeling as soon as I turn into my parents’ neighborhood. Someday Mom will sell that house but for now, it’s home.

    I’m glad you got to enjoy a piece of home this weekend!



Leave a Reply

